10 day Keto Challenge

20496506_10154518858666268_1472821118_n

One thing I have learned about Keto is that it’s a GREAT way to challenge your body.

First of all you have changed the way you think of fueling your body completely and once you get used to eating way more fat then you ever have before you realize you have these amazing ketones burning fat stored in you all day, every day. That’s why you aren’t hungry most of the time, because your body is eating whats already stored in you!!

I first started “challenging” myself with intermittent fasting. It really wasn’t much of a challenge because I am never hungry anyway. (at least first thing in the morning/afternoon) I just started to push myself for longer and longer amounts of non-eating periods of time. Now usually this goes against everything you have learned. Doesn’t fasting put you into starvation mode? Aren’t you storing/making fat when you fast?

What in the world is Intermittent fasting?

Intermittent fasting is an eating pattern where you cycle between periods of eating and fasting.

It does not say anything about which foods to eat, but rather when you should eat them.

There are several different intermittent fasting methods, all of which split the day or week into eating periods and fasting periods.

Most people already “fast” every day, while they sleep. Intermittent fasting can be as simple as extending that fast a little longer.

You can do this by skipping breakfast, eating your first meal at noon and your last meal at 8 pm.

Then you’re technically fasting for 16 hours every day, and restricting your eating to an 8-hour eating window. This is the most popular form of intermittent fasting, known as the 16/8 method.

Despite what you may think, intermittent fasting is actually fairly easy to do. Many people report feeling better and having more energy during a fast.

Hunger is usually not that big of an issue, although it can be a problem in the beginning, while your body is getting used to not eating for extended periods of time.

No food is allowed during the fasting period, but you can drink water, coffee, tea and other non-caloric beverages.

Some forms of intermittent fasting allow small amounts of low-calorie foods during the fasting period.

Taking supplements is generally allowed while fasting, as long as there are no calories in them.

Bottom Line: Intermittent fasting (or “IF”) is an eating pattern where you cycle between periods of eating and fasting. It is a very popular health and fitness trend, with research to back it up.

Information from (Authority Nutrition) For me, personally I quit eating at 7pm and starting eating again at noon the next day. I work out between 11am and noon to get my ketones activated and producing before I put any food in my body. Some days I work out earlier and most days I always have BPC to begin my day with. All of the fats in BPC are a great way to start my day at 100% fats 🙂

So this brings me to my latest challenge. The five day meal prep challenge from Keto Connect  followed by the Five day Egg fast by Fluffy Chicks

I feel like I am in a stall and I am not loosing like I was (I’m down 26 lbs!!) and this is supposed to be a great jump start to get you going again. I am in a few groups with women doing these challenges with great success. So I am hoping I will also have some great luck. I plan on starting on Tuesday, August 1, 2017.

If you are interested in starting either or both of these challenges with me please PM me on Facebook and if I have even two people interested I will start a private accountability group for us. The five day Keto Connect challenge is pretty simple. You get three meals a day all of them add up to 1850Calories-141gFat-121gProtein-18gNetCarbs and you eat the same thing for five days in a row. You will be allowed a snack box, chili, and drumsticks with broccoli along with your BPC and water. If you are interested in starting you can sign up for the Meal prep guide here at the Walmart low carb meal prep page on the Keto Connect website.  They will have you sign up for an email with the list of ingredients and all the information you will need to get started.

Like I said I plan on following the meal prep for five days and then moving on to a five day egg fast. I am so excited for this and I really don’t know why LOL Here is what Fluffy Chix has to say about their egg fast

Fluffy Chix Cook loves experimenting with diet composition within the framework of a low carb keto lifestyle.  WARNING: It’s a very un-scientific approach, and we do not back our feeble experiments up with footnotes and studies. Google is your friend.

 

We think there might be merit in “shaking things up” and keeping our body guessing about how many calories or carbs it will get on any one day. Egg Fasting is one useful tool in low carb, keto diet “tom-foolery.” It’s been around longer than we’ve been low carbing (over 14 years). In the old days, typically Egg Fasts emphasized limiting your diet to a mono-fast. It really wasn’t a mono-fast in the strictest definition of the term, because it involved more than one type of food each day. (The Fluffys do not necessarily believe eating only one food per day “detoxes” anything, it’s just goofy fun.) Egg Fasts evolved to include some ratio of eggs:fat:cheese (hard cheese + cream cheese).

 

We took it one step further and determined Fluffy Chix lose as well with an ADF EF (Alternate Day Egg Fast) as we do with a consecutive day Egg Fast. (We don’t want our body getting used to super low, daily carb totals.) We’re using the ADF EF as a means to cycle carbs between a very low level one day and a higher level, up to 20g Total Carbs) on alternating days. ADF breaks monotony and it’s our non-scholarly theory that it will prevent the body from down-regulating metabolism. Remember, that’s our story and we’re sticking to it!)

 

We presently suspect that many of the low carb gurus may be right, that netting carbs to subtract fiber may not be appropriate for every person (we believe we may be one of those “persons.”) So for the sake of the ADF EF (Alternate Day Fasting – Egg Fast), we will keep carbs to 20g total carbs per day (non-netted), and will keep fats between 75-85% daily. We’re also trying to keep protein in a broad range that works for the Fluffy’s individual protein needs: between 60-85g daily. Total daily carbs will vary: Egg Fast Days = 5-6g Total Carbs; Page 4 Days (aka Non-EF Days)=less than or equal to 20g Total Carbs.

 

Egg Fasting is a form of LCHF (low carb high fat) dieting. It may not be appropriate for everyone. You must ALWAYS check with your doctor before changing your diet and lifestyle, especially if you have underlying medical conditions, especially if you are taking any medication for it. Ahem…that’s you heart patients, cancer warriors, auto-immune fighting super heroes, and medicated diabetics!

EggFastRules-409x1024

At egg chix you will find a ton of information, meal plans and inspiration.

I know eating eggs as an only source of protein sounds crazy for five days but you can make eggs into practically anything and I promise you will not get bored of eggs on an egg fast. So if you would like to join me I would be honored or just sit back and watch my journey as I will be doing 5 day weigh-ins and daily food posts etc. Wish me luck!

I am in no way affiliated to Keto Connect or Fluffy Chix just passing on the information as it has been given to me and giving credit where credit is due.

Leave a Reply

