Ketogenic WOE

It seems like I only write in this blog when I am on another adventure in my life. Juicing, cooking, DIY, moving to Travis AFB and now we have moved on to New Jersey.  Now here in New Jersey I’m on my latest adventure. The Ketogenic diet. What is the “Keto” diet?

A ketogenic diet (keto) is a very low-carb diet, which turns the body into a fat-burning machine. It has many potential benefits for weight loss, health and performance, but also some potential initial side effects.

A ketogenic diet is similar to other strict low-carb diets, like the Atkins diet or LCHF (low carb, high fat). These diets often end up being ketogenic more or less by accident. The main difference between strict LCHF and keto is that protein is restricted in the latter.

A keto diet is designed specifically to result in ketosis. It’s possible to measure and adapt to reach optimal ketone levels for health, weight loss, or for physical and mental performance.

I started my journey in June. I thought I was doing everything correctly but I was pretty much just doing low carb high fat. Then I went to a friends house for her daughters birthday party and through talking to her I realized that I was doing quite a few things incorrect and in order to be in true ketosis I needed to cut out many more things from my diet.

June 10th is when my Ketogenic diet truly began and since then I have lost 26 pounds. I have had this blog for a total of six years and honestly I haven’t done anything with it, but now I feel like I have truly found something that works for me and I want to share it with whomever is willing to stick with me through this journey.

I probably wont do everything the way ‘everyone’ on the keto diet is supposed to and I will probably share some products that aren’t TRUE keto but this is my journey and I will make sure to let you know when I do.

I’m starting my first blog post back with something sweet and that is pretty silly considering that I don’t even really care for sweets. I know shocker!! LOL but that’s my curse for being born on Valentines Day.  (at least that was what my mother always said)

These Peanut Butter cookies are more like fat bombs, they are mostly protein, peanut butter and good oils.

Low Carb Peanut Butter Cookies (Keto)

1 Cup Peanut butter

1/2 Cup Stevia in the raw powder

(not fully keto approved because it contains maltodextrin but you can buy Swerve and blend it to make a keto “completely” approved product)

1 Egg

1 TBSP Coconut Flour

Preheat your oven to 350F and gather your ingredients.

20428225_10154514420276268_977815735_n

Add all of the Ingredients into a bowl and mix well.

20464353_10154514420451268_1383279103_n

everything combined should resemble a thick paste.

20427976_10154514420551268_310926537_n

Drop rolled dough onto parchment paper in one inch balls and then flatten with a fork just like you would traditional peanut butter cookies.

20496382_10154514420341268_529428718_n

Bake for 10-14 minutes and let rest for at least 15 minutes or they will crumble apart. Like I said they are very dense but absolutely delicious.

My hope is to continue on this ketogenic path and share more than just recipes with you but my entire journey. The good and the bad. Hopefully more good than bad 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

