to Cloth or not to CLoth?

Image

To use cloth diapers or disposable. That is the question in this house. There is absolutely no doubt that cloth will save you money and guilt in the long run cloth will undoubtedly save you money, but for a second time around Mom like me, they are intimidating as all hell! 

With my daughter I used disposables and the convenience is undeniable. That’s why when looking into cloth diapering I searched and searched for something as “similar” as a disposable diaper as possible. I found the new Hybrid’s to be the closest.

The one I have found to like the most (just by looking) so far has been the gDiaper (http://www.gdiapers.com/shop/)

ImageBasically you pick the size diaper you want newborn threw large and you choose the size insert you want (you can choose cloth or you can choose disposable inserts.) I of course liked the idea of buying the inserts and then you can toss them, put them in a compost or flush them rite down you’re toilet. However when asking my cloth diapering mommy friends they all pretty much agreed that having to buy new “shells” every time you’re child grows from small, medium to large kind of defeats the purpose of saving money. However for me I found it a deal if you bought in bundles though. You can purchase the newborn bundle for $149.99 and you get 12 newborn g pants, 6 small g pants (fits up to 14 lbs) 80 small disposable inserts and one swish stick. (swish before you flush) Why is that a deal to me? Well for one it’s sweet because I’m not intimidated by all of the washing and AI1 AI2 terms cloth diaper moms throw around or attaching spray nozzles to toilets, and changing laundry detergent  or getting wet bags and crazy laundry baskets. All I have to do is buy some shells, toss or flush and I am saving the planet and my pockets some money. You can sign up for automatic shipping of inserts (160 inserts) for $52 a month. WOW I was spending $55 every two weeks at Costco and still not getting that kind of deal. That is a whole months worth of diapers in one order, but….

The whole point is to NOT spend extra money a month rite? So now it is another mission completely. So I started looking and researching and found that moms will pay anywhere form $5-$30 on one cloth diaper. WHAT?? No way! Now I really need to learn how to sew! What a cash cow!! 

I however am not one of those moms, if I am going to spend that kind of money I will just go with disposables again. So what did I do you ask? I went back to my mommy’s of cloth friends again and asked them what kind they used or liked and I can tell you with all honesty that not a single one of them liked the same damn diaper. So I went to every single webpage of the cloth they each liked and of course they all liked different inserts or AI1 (all in ones) or AI2 (all in twos) or liked them with pockets or without pockets etc. Some were really fancy and some were just plain strange. Some moms really like to do it old school with actual pins. More power to those moms cause my poor kid would most likely end up being a pin cushion.

All of my mom friends had one thing in common though, they were all so helpful! Sending me links and information but the thing is once you start to gather all of the information you start to get a little crazy about cloth diapers. I especially felt sad that I couldn’t afford to buy my soon to be born son $30 a piece cloth diapers. 

Then I had an epiphany after spending day’s online looking at cloth diapers. It didn’t matter what my mom friends used on their kids all that mattered was what I wanted to do for my children. That includes saving money on diapers because I do not want to have to take away any of my daughter activity’s from her just because her father and I are having a baby. She will undoubtedly be pained enough by mommy & daddy’s attention going to the new edition and then her father leaving shortly after the baby’s birth for 6 months. (dang military!) So why make her suffer? 

So I continued my search and have found that by far the cheapest and nicest AI2 (all in two) cloth diaper for me is Alva baby (http://www.alvababy.comImage
I actually got to feel and touch them the other day at a consignment sale and I really liked them. The best deal I found on the website is 10 colorful re-usable cloth diapers with 10 pcs three layer bamboo for $61.00 plus shipping. Plus you can pick whatever design you want they do not have to be solids!! So even if they fell apart and I had to buy new ones 6-8 months down the road I am still saving hundreds of dollars by the time our son ends up in training pants. Why the bamboo and not the microfiber? My mommy friends tell me it causes less diaper rash and I like that Idea but if you are ok with microfiber they have a 20 pack with 20 inserts for $84 and that has free shipping. So you really can’t beat that.  Or can you? 

YES! you can! if you like to buy in bulk like me then you may consider wholesale. One of my mommy friends sent me to Ali Express (http://www.aliexpress.com) and I have found almost every brand my friends suggest on the website and some more. Some of them selling for as low as $1.20 a diaper! So if you already know what kind of cloth you love and you like to buy 5-20 at a time that may be the best bet for you. I have also found some good deals on Ebay and craigslist if you like to buy used or slightly used you could save a bunch of money on those sites and other sites like http://www.gigglelife.comhttp://clothdiapertrader.com/http://www.dhgate.com,and http://www.diaperswappers.com. I found them to have some super deals and some not so much but that is the fun of the hunt! 

I also found out about cloth diaper banks that help families in need. How amazing is that?? Now it is not produced by the state they are actually shops, stores and vendors in you’re area that care about mom’s and babies in need and donate diapers to families. here is a link and there is a ton of info on Diaper Banks if you are in NEED. http://dirtydiaperlaundry.com/cloth-diaper-banks-helping-families-in-need/

So on my quest to find the perfect cloth diaper (there isn’t one by the way. Every mom will say they have the best) I also found out that you need quite a few other things to get going in the cloth diaper world. The basics I have found are. 

1: The Diapers

2: Detergent

3: Wet bag’s

4: Diaper Pail

5: Wipes 

6: Diaper Spray

7: Liners (for tossing poo into the toilet and protecting the life of the cloth insert) 

8: Spray nozzle

and of course diaper rash ointment or powder whatever you choose. So now that I am slightly back to blogging I can assure you that I will be back to update you on my conquest to become a money saving cloth diapering mama. I am seriously overwhelmed but I have never given up on anything before why give up on saving money, helping our environment and learning a ton in the process?

This is our last baby so I don’t see why not.  The only thing that scares me is the laundry and getting crap all over me or my hands oh! and don’t forget the leaking!!  Hopefully those aren’t going to be serious issues for me in the future but I will share if they are and I do laundry every friggin day as it is so whats an extra load? I mean really. Feel free to give me any cloth diaper info you have as well in the comments so everyone can learn a little something!! Thanks for sticking with me everyone it feels good to be back.

 

(These are just my opinions please do not take them literally I am by no means a professional in anything but loving my family) 

Leave a Reply

